Next year

So today saw the GTCS release the council allocations for all probation/TIS teachers for 2017/18. A day long awaited by all student teachers.

Back in February we had to select 5 authorities that we would work for, ranked in order of preference. If you felt brave, you could tick the “go anywhere” box which puts an extra £8k in your bank over your probation year. Not a bad option for many of my class colleagues: young, no big commitments and nothing to lose (I would do it). Not such a good option for those with a wife, toddler and a mortgage to pay.

With Aberdeen City and Aberdeenshire first two choices I was hopeful (perhaps naively) to be placed in either. It came as a bit of surprise however to be staring at the words “Moray Council” on my phone at 6am. I actually got in trouble for swearing in front of my daughter!

I have nothing against Moray; I spent my first placement in a Moray school and I loved it. Everyone was helpful, supportive and encouraging. It’s just a bit far away! A few phone calls and enquiries later and I find out that I’ve been allocated to the furthest reaches of Moray; a 2.5 hour drive each way!

As a mature student with a family, this year of training has been challenging enough as it is; not earning, travel, lesson preparation time, late nights and early mornings, assignments, juggling childcare, etc. It now feels that I am penalised further for entering the profession at this stage of life rather than being a young entrant with no/less commitments.

A choice awaits:

  1. Take the blue pill: stick it out with my TIS allocation with a guaranteed role and the support provided but with the complications of travel & childcare.
  2. Take the red pill: gamble on finding a job myself and having to get through a probationary year without the support mechanisms.

This is a tough one, with pitfalls either way. I LOVE teaching so this is not the end but I’m sure this kind of thing doesn’t help when it comes to the recruitment and retention of teachers.

To be continued………

Leave a Reply

