This is my first foray into the world of blogging. At the ripe old age of 40, I decided to have a career change and follow a long held desire to get in to teaching. I thought that shipped had sailed, having left it too long after leaving university and forging a different career path. The downturn in Aberdeen and a few poor experiences made me look again at taking the leap.

So far so good! This last year back at University and on placement in two great schools has shown me that I have made the right decision and that it’s never too late to make a change. I am on the verge of completing a PGDE course and begin my probation year, or the Teacher Induction Scheme (TIS). I’ll be qualified to teach Biology with Science in Secondary. The year back at University has been challenging but enjoyable. I have been lucky enough to study and work with some great people, who have helped me along the way.

Throughout the Initial Teacher Education (ITE), we have been actively encouraged to reflect on our learning and teaching. This blog is an opportunity to for me to share my thoughts, fears, observations, challenges and breakthroughs. Having the added spur of blogging will hopefully help me refine my thoughts and help find solutions to the challenges along the way.

I have been at two fantastic schools this year and met some brilliant teachers. They have inspired, supported and challenged me along the way. I think that a lot of people on the outside looking in on teaching have some weird and wonderful opinions on the profession but all I have seen so far are professional and dedicated individuals determined to do the best for the pupils in their charge. I have loved the teacher training and the only regret is not doing it sooner.

At the time of writing I have only 1 week left of my final school placement and 2 days of University after that. Thankfully I know already that I have passed my assignments and the placements.

The element of suspense hangs on where I will be teaching next year!

All newly qualified teachers can enter into the TIS and a guaranteed job role for the first school year. The only downside, is that you don’t get to chose where. The General Teaching Council for Scotland (GTCs) allocates teachers to a Council authority and then the council place you in a school. Today was supposed to be the day that we heard from the GTCs but they have been delayed for a week.

I haven’t fully thought through what exactly I will be blogging about and how often. Bare with me as I find my feet with the process and what I want to talk about.

Leave a Reply

